Exploratory Teaching Space


2019 ETS Call

Application Deadline: July 10, 2019



Vera Eckers

ERS Coordinator


+49 241 80-90492


You can find all news about teaching at RWTH Aachen and more  

The Exploratory Research Space, ETS, was established as part of the Institutional Strategy for Teaching – building on positive experiences in research – in 2009 at RWTH Aachen. ETS' aim is to create a platform for creative idea generation in teaching at RWTH.

Calls are published annually. Submitted proposals are evaluated internally by RWTH and then sent to the ETS selection committee, which is made up of the ETS steering committee, an elected academic staff representative, and a student representative. The selection process is subject to the code of conduct and pre-determined selection criteria.

The funding period lasts up to twelve months. Grants can be used for both material and personnel costs.

You can find the call here. The deadline for submission is July 10, 2019.


ETS Projects 2018

ETS Number Titel/Topic Applicant/PI Department
ETS 356

Planning and Controlin in Future Production and Logistics – Development of an Interactive Environment for Teaching and Experimentation


Prof. Dr. Julia Bendul Workgroup Industry 4.0 at the Chair for Management of Digitalization and Automation
ETS 359

"Shopping Street – Preparing Urban Retail for the Future"


Prof. Dr. Cordula Neiberger Economic Geography of Services Teaching and Research Department
René Delpy M.Sc.
ETS 362

Network-Based Smart Phone Experiments


Dr. Sebastian Staacks Chair of Experimental Physics (Solid State Physics) und 2nd Physics Institute
Prof. Dr. Christoph Stampfer
ETS 370

Peyton Perspective – Augmented Reality for an Efficient Training of Complex Manual Abilities in Dentistry


PD Dr. Cord Spreckelsen Institute of Medical Informatics
Dr. Anna Bock Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
PD Dr. Dr. Ali Modabber
ETS 375

Competency Orientation and Individualization in Physics Practicals and Labs

Prof. Dr. Heidrun Heinke Experimental Physics Teaching and Research Department
ETS 376

Virtual Retrofit – Playful Application of Energy Saving Measures


Dr. Rita Streblow Institute for Energy Efficient Buildings and Indoor Climate
ETS 381

Professionalization of an eLearning Toolkit to Support Working Processes in Science


Christoph Greven M.Sc. Chair of Computer Science 9 – Learning Technologies Research Group
Prof. Ulrik Schroeder
ETS 385

Plastics Challenge 4.0 – Development of a Digital Educational Game on the Opportunities Provided by Industry 4.0 in Plastics Processing


Prof. Christian Hopmann Chair of Plastics Processing
Dr. Petra Scheller-Brüninghaus

The ETS Steering Committee
Professor Aloys Krieg Vice-Rector for Teaching
Dr. Elke Müller Head of Department 4 – Research and Career
Professor Heribert Nacken Rector's Delegate for Blended Learning
Dipl.-Kff. Claudia Römisch Head of Division 6.2 – Teaching
Stifterverband logo Federal Ministry of Education and Research logo